Have you been looking for a way to get rid of one or more old text messages on your iPhone? This article will show you different methods to delete messages on your iPhone XS Max.
To delete messages on your iPhone XS Max, follow the procedure below;
- On your iPhone, open the Messages app.
- Find and open the conversation containing the message you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold the message till a pop-up menu appears.
- Select “More” from the menu.
- Now you can select as many messages as possible in the conversation.
- Delete them by tapping the “bin” icon at the bottom left corner of your screen.
- Click “Delete Message” to confirm.
How To Delete Conversations on iPhone XS Max
Instead of deleting messages one after the other, you can delete the whole conversation to help save time. In case you don’t know how to go about this, I will show you how now.
To delete conversations on your iPhone XS Max, follow the procedure below;
- Open the Messages app on your iPhone XS Max.
- Click “Edit” at the top left corner of the screen.
- You will be able to select conversations. Select as many as you wish to delete.
- When you are done, tap “Delete” at the bottom right corner of your screen.
After doing this, the whole conversation will be deleted from your iPhone XS Max. If you have selected more than one conversation, each of them will be erased, and you won’t see them anymore.
How To Delete Messages On Your iPhone XS Max Automatically
You can set a timer on your iPhone to delete messages after a particular duration. Instead of deleting these messages, your device will automatically delete them after the specified time.
To activate this, follow the procedure below;
- Open the Settings app on your iPhone XS Max.
- Navigate to Messages.
- Go to “Message History” and click “Keep messages.“
- Here, you can keep your messages for 30 days, one year, or forever. Choose whichever one you are comfortable with
For example, if you have set it to “Keep messages for one year,” any message on your iPhone XS Max exceeding this period will be permanently deleted.
How Long Do Text Messages Stay On iPhone XS Max?
By default, text messages are set to stay forever on your iPhone. This means these messages will be on your device until you delete yourself. With this feature, you will meet a message of ten years on your iPhone.
However, you can easily change this setting using the previously described method. You can set it to 30 days or one year, depending on how long you want to keep messages on your iPhone XS Max.
Where Do Deleted Messages Go On My iPhone XS Max?
It might interest you to know where deleted messages go from your iPhone. Is it even possible to recover these messages after you delete them from your device? These are questions that you should, of course, find answers to.
The iOS messaging app does not have a trash or recently deleted folder where it stores messages and conversations you delete. It is quite unlike the photo library, where you can find a folder for recently deleted items.
Judging by the fact that there is no trash or recently deleted folder on the iOS messaging app, there is no way to restore any message you delete. However, you can reaccess these messages if you probably did a backup earlier.
To restore deleted messages, you should check the backup, which contains the messages. However, if you cannot back up, any message you have deleted is gone forever; it can never be recovered.
How Long Do Deleted Mail Messages Stay On Your iCloud?
Take note that this applies only to emails and not common text messages. As mentioned earlier, text messages do not have folders where they are kept or saved. When you delete a text message, it is gone forever unless you have a backup.
However, when you delete a mail from your mailbox, it is moved to the trash mailbox of your iCloud. Deleting an email will move it to your Trash mailbox before it is permanently erased and can not be recovered anymore.
The messages will spend just 30 days before they are automatically deleted forever. If you have emails in the Trash that you wish to recover, you should do so before it spends 30 days in the folder.
How Do I Delete Emails Permanently Without Moving Them To The Trash?
As I mentioned earlier, when you delete emails from your device, they are moved to the Trash folder of your iCloud. Deleted messages stay here for 30 days before they are deleted permanently.
You can set your device to delete these messages permanently without even getting to the Trash folder. Let’s have a look at how to go about this.
- Open the Mail folder on your iCloud.
- Click the gear icon at the top of the screen.
- Then select “Preferences.“
- Locate the option that reads “Move deleted messages to” and deselect it.
- After that, click “Done.“
Try to delete a mail now. It will be deleted immediately without moving to the Trash folder.
How To Empty The Trash On My iPhone XS Max
Instead of waiting 30 days before the emails in your iCloud are automatically deleted, you can delete them by following a simple process. Let’s have a look at this procedure.
- Go to iCloud on your device and log in to your account.
- Navigate to “Mail” and tap the gear icon at the top of the mailboxes list.
- From the menu, select “Empty Trash.” Confirm it, and the Trash be cleared.
You can use this method to delete all the messages in the Trash simultaneously instead of deleting them one at a time. Also, bear in mind that when you empty the Trash, all messages in it are permanently deleted.
You can use the method above to delete messages on most iOS models, including the iPhone XR, iPhone X, iPhone XS, and many more. Just follow the guideline, and you can delete these messages in no time.