Tumblr is fast becoming the favorite of users who love to engage in trending art topics. It is sometimes compared to online forums like Reddit, Quora, Google Answers, and many more. If you are looking for a place to start a discussion and get massive engagements, you can head to any of these forums.
However, there are a few things that you might find frustrating during your time on these networks, especially Tumblr. Whenever you start a discussion or create a post, you might get some replies considered “abusive, unnecessary, or degrading” that won’t be pleasing to see.
In such cases, the first that comes to your mind is to get rid of the comment or reply. On so many forums, deleting a statement made by someone else on your post might be possible. However, it is possible to do that on Tumblr. When a user makes a degrading comment, you can delete it from your end.
So how do you delete a comment on Tumblr? I will show you how to go about it in this article. The process involves a few steps and is also quite easy to comprehend. In addition, there are some ways to control replies to your post, which I will outline later in this writing.
How Do I Delete a Comment on Tumblr?
Here, I will show you a step-by-step guide on deleting a comment you might find annoying or abusive on your Tumblr post or discussion. Trust me; this should not take much of your time!
Just a sec! Tumblr has different applications for mobile and desktop users. Therefore, deleting a comment on both would be quite different from each other. As a result, I will show you how to delete replies on both media.
How To Delete Comment on Tumblr Mobile
Most Tumblrs use their mobile to access the app and start discussions; therefore, I will show you how to delete replies on mobile first. Follow these simple steps to do so:
- Go to the post.
- Find the reply you wish to delete.
- Long press the reply and wait for some options to load on the screen.
- You will see a “Delete reply” option; select it and confirm the action.
That’s all you need to do, and the comment will be deleted from your post – no need for further action. Also, no matter how many offensive replies a user makes to your post, you can delete them all without reaching a limit.
How To Delete Comments on Tumblr Desktop
Now let’s see how to delete comments on the desktop application. Like mobile users, desktop users also have total control over the kind of comments and replies they want to see on their posts. Follow these steps to delete replies on Tumblr;
- Go to your post.
- Find the reply you want to delete.
- Unlike Tumblr for mobile, you can’t long press the comment since you’d be using a mouse. Instead, you will find an ellipsis icon next to the comment; tap on it.
- It would bring up some options, find “delete reply,” and select it.
When you delete a reply on your post or discussion and confirm it, you can no longer undo or reverse the action. A comment deleted is gone forever. Therefore, you should be careful with the replies you delete.
How To Manage My Replies on Tumblr
In some cases, you might have so many offensive replies that it would take a lot of valuable time to delete. Instead of spending valuable time deleting comments on your post, you can manage replies on Tumblr. It simply means that you can control who replies to your posts.
On Tumblr, three categories of users can reply to your posts and discussions. I will show you these categories and also explain each one of them. In addition, I will teach you how to manage your replies following a simple process.
1. Everyone Can Reply
This option is the most common on Tumblr and is usually the default reply setting. Whenever you create a Tumblr account, your reply settings will be set to this unless you change it yourself. With this option, every user on Tumblr can reply to your posts or discussions.
However, users who you have blocked will not be able to reply to your posts. Also, users who have turned on their Safe Mode settings won’t be able to reply. In fact, they won’t be able to see your posts, not to talk of replying to them.
2. Tumblrs You Follow and Tumblrs Following You For a Week Can Reply
For this reply setting, every Tumblr you follow will be able to see your posts and reply to them if they want. Also, Tumblrs who have followed you for up to a week would be able to reply to your posts. If a Tumblr has followed you in less than a week, they won’t be able to reply in this setting.
3. Tumblrs You Follow Can Reply
For this reply setting, none of your followers would be able to reply to your posts. Although they will see your posts but will not be able to comment on them. In this case, only Tumblrs that you actively follow would be able to reply to your posts when they see them.
How Do I Change My Reply Settings on Tumblr?
Now that you know the various reply settings on Tumblr, you should know how to change the settings whenever you wish. To do this, follow the simple procedure below;
- Open the Tumblr app
- Navigate to settings via the account icon
- When you get to settings, select “Replies.”
- You will find it on the default setting of “Most Inclusive,” which allows everyone to reply. You can change this to any of the options therein.
This guide explains how you can quickly delete selected replies or comments on your posts on Tumblr. The introduction of this feature has greatly helped reduce the amount of abusive and negative comments on Tumblrs posts.
However, if you feel deleting a reply is not enough, you can report the reply to Tumblr. Also, you can block a particular Tumblr from replying to your original posts in the future. You should note that blocking them from replying to your posts does not stop them from replying to someone else’s reblog of your post.