How To Delete a Campaign in Salesforce

How To Delete a Campaign in Salesforce

There are many ways to grow your business and reach more customers; the most common way is through product advertising. Of course, there are also several media for advertising; however, many are unreliable. An advertising channel could have one or more lapses.

How about an advertising medium built to fulfill every advertising goal without lapses, like Salesforce? Salesforce does not only help businesses reach more prospects; it also helps them close more deals and ensure customers are satisfied in the end.

Salesforce is not just a traditional advertising medium but is a company that makes cloud-based software to ensure the goals in the previous paragraph are met. Businesses on Salesforce reach out to more people by creating campaigns on the software.

You might decide to take it down whenever your campaign reaches the desired target. However, some people cannot do this because they do not know how to do it. In this article, I will show you how to delete a campaign in Salesforce.

What are Salesforce Campaigns?

Before you make or delete a campaign in Salesforce, you should understand what they are and how they work. If you are part or the head of a cross-functional team struggling to communicate and actively transfer critical data, you might consider using Salesforce campaigns.

With Salesforce campaigns, you can bridge the large gap between sales and marketing, promoting your successes to all those concerned in the business. Whenever you want to create a campaign, you can choose the type, select members, organize assets, and also set the campaign hierarchies.

In addition, you will be able to track the campaign’s progress and report to stakeholders. Some of the tools used in Salesforce campaigns to help promote successes are Einstein Attribution and Campaign Influence.

How Do I Delete a Salesforce Campaign?

You can visit the Salesforce website to check how to set up a campaign and add members. However, if, at any point, you want to take the campaign down, then there is an easy way to go about it. What you will find on many sites are vague and unclear processes.

To delete a campaign in Salesforce, follow the procedure below;

1. Log in to Salesforce

Open Salesforce, and navigate to the campaigns list page. On this page, you will find all the campaigns you have created and also been added to.

2. Find the campaign

If you are in more than one campaign, you will find the list of each of them on that page. Look for the particular campaign you want to delete.

3. Delete the campaign

When you find the campaign, you will see a “Del” option next to it; click it to delete. Also, you can delete a campaign by selecting “delete campaign” after you expand the campaign detail.

What Happens When You Delete a Salesforce campaign?

You might wonder what happens when you hit the delete button of a campaign. Well, here is what happens. Every data related to that campaign will also be deleted when you delete a campaign. The tasks, events, and attachments would all be erased.

However, the associated contacts, personal accounts, opportunities, and leads are not deleted from the campaign. These data will remain on the system, and you can access them whenever you wish. Only the deleted campaign and related items are moved to the recycle bin.

Can I Restore a Deleted Campaign?

It might be shocking, but deleted campaigns are still very much accessible. If you want to restore a campaign you have already deleted, you can do so in the Recycle bin. However, it must be done within 15 days from the deletion date.

If it exceeds 15 days, the campaign will be permanently deleted from the database, and you won’t have access to it any longer. If you think of restoring a deleted campaign, do so before it is too late. However, if you wish to delete it permanently, you can empty the recycle bin.

How Do I Delete Campaign Members in Salesforce?

Instead of deleting a Salesforce campaign, you might delete individual members from the campaign; this will automatically remove them from your campaign. Here is how to do this;

  • Log in to your Salesforce account.
  • Go to the campaign detail page, and select the Campaign Members related list.
  • It would bring out a list of all members of the campaign. Find the campaign member you want to delete.
  • If you use the Salesforce Lightning Experience, click Delete from the drop-down menu on the member’s row. However, if you are using Salesforce Classic, select Remove.

Who Can Delete a Salesforce Campaign?

If you are wondering who can delete a Salesforce campaign, I will show you here. Not everyone or every member added to a campaign has the right to delete it. Before you can delete a campaign, you must be the originator of that campaign.

In other words, you must have created the campaign before you can delete it. However, you can also delete a campaign if you have administrator permissions. Therefore, either the creator or the administrator has permission to delete a Salesforce campaign.

Conclusion 

Salesforce offers a lot of benefits that will even keep you wowed. However, for one reason or another, you might want to end a campaign and probably set up a new one. If you want to delete a campaign on Salesforce, follow the guideline I have shown you above.

Also, you should remember that you can only restore a deleted campaign from the Recycle bin within fifteen days of deletion. If you are still interested in a campaign, you should hasten to restore it before it gets deleted permanently.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top