For live video conferencing and calls, you’ve probably used Zoom, Skype, or Microsoft Teams, but there are other choices that function better when you’re separated by multiple time zones. Marco Polo is an app that takes a novel approach to conventional video calling platforms. It’s a video messaging app that works on Android and iOS devices.
The app’s creators, Joya Communications, describe it as a video messaging app for individuals with busy schedules. It’s for individuals who can’t schedule a regular FaceTime or Skype call with the people they want to stay in contact with or who live in a completely different time zone.
Instead of having a live, real-time face-to-face conversation with the person you’re speaking with, you record your video message as part of a conversation, and then the other person can either watch it live as you’re recording it or later reply back once they have time.
This mode of communication allows you to be entirely spontaneous, which is something we really like about it. You don’t need to schedule a face-to-face meeting; you can send a video message and chat with the person whenever you have something to share, and they’ll see it and respond, if not immediately, during their leisure time.
Instead of engaging in a video chat or publicly uploading content to stories, users can send video and text messages to others so they can view them at their leisure. It’s intended to be family-friendly in that people may send video messages to one another that they can view whenever they choose without interfering with anyone’s schedule. Parents, grandparents, siblings, and close friends are expected to use the app to keep up with current happenings in one another’s lives.
Marco Polo’s makers claim that their program stands out from other social media applications because “Marco Polo is authentic, trusted, and built to be healthy for you,” according to the app store description. Unlike many apps, Marco Polo does not sell user data to advertisers.”
How Much Does Marco Polo Cost?
Marco Polo is a free service. You don’t have to pay anything to use it, but you can subscribe if you want to.
An individual subscription to Marco Polo Plus is £7.99 per month or £44.99 per year. Marco Polo Plus (up to 5 persons in a family) – £19.49 a month or £116.99 per year
Marco Polo preserves old, inactive messages if you don’t subscribe. You get to keep all of your communications if you subscribe. In general, we haven’t found it necessary to pay a subscription; whether you do or don’t have little relevance to how you use the app daily.
How Does Marco Polo Work?
Initially, you provide your phone number using the app, which becomes how your friends and family locate you. You’ll appear as a contact on their phone contact list if you’re on their list. In that sense, it’s similar to WhatsApp.
You’ll need to grant the app access to your contacts and your camera and microphone for it to function and keep you in touch with the people that matter to you.
Your chats are displayed on the app’s home screen. These are the interactions you’re having with others, and a tab for ‘suggested’ chats shows you which of your friends have been active recently.
Tap on contact with the app installed to be directed to the video messaging interface, which includes a huge blue ‘Start’ button. Start recording your message by tapping that.
All conversations between you and the other person will appear in the area down the bottom of this chat screen, where you can observe and respond to them at any time.
Marco Polo videos will be available for as long as the user is online and does not erase them manually. Videos will be immediately erased if a user has been inactive for more than a year. After 30 days, users with a free subscription are subject to video archives, which means your videos will be available in the archive folder. Those that subscribe for a fee will not be archived.
When You Erase a Video from Marco Polo, What Happens?
If you remove your own Polo, you and the receivers will lose access to it. Deleting a Polo that someone sent you, on the other hand, will remove the polo from your conversation history.
Unless all users in the discussion open their Marco Polo app every 365 days, your present Polos are automatically erased if you don’t use it for a year or more.
How to Delete Old Marco Polo Videos
In the video list, look for the Polo thumbnail. For 3 seconds, tap and hold that thumbnail until an “x” appears. To erase from one side of the discussion, press Delete; to delete from both sides of the conversation, press Confirm Delete.
How to Delete Your Marco Polo account
Go to Settings in the app first to delete your Marco Polo account. Scroll down and select “Delete Account” from the drop-down menu. Tap “Delete Account” once again after entering your password. Your account will be deactivated, and your personal information will be permanently destroyed.
Where can I locate an old Marco Polo?
You can access archived Polos by quickly searching the chat’s archive and tapping the “Restore Polos” button to retrieve old Polos. You may ask how long it will take for your archived Polos to become available after I request them.
It will take at least 24 hours to restore an archived chat. Polos are stored on your device for the first 24 hours. They are transferred to our cloud after 24 hours. This will help you save space on your smartphone! Don’t worry; you still have full control over saving and deleting your Polos.
Is It Possible to Reclaim Marco Polos That Have Been Deleted?
The app will verify and confirm your decision when you delete Marco Polo. All of your data will be permanently erased if you delete the account, and you will not be able to restore it.